Nothing on my mind, 29 June 2009

2009/06/29

Yeah, I know. I’ve been absent from the blogging world for a few days; what can I say? I’ve been captivated by the world of Fallout 3, and consequently, I haven’t been motivated to do much outside of its post apocalyptic goodness. I’d write more today, but its getting late, and I feel like capturing some night photos of my hometown while I’m here. Thus, today will be a short post.

SArc01

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon FM2
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 50mm f/1.2
Film: Kodak TMax ISO 100 (35mm)
Exposure: Built-in TTL meter (FM2)

This is an older photo from a few years ago. The subject is (part of) Campbell Hall, the home of the School of Architecture at the University of Virginia (where I earned my undergraduate degree). The view is looking up at the roof from three stories below; the projected window bay on the right-hand side is a two-story window bay that opens into the main studio space (its quite nice when you’re inside the studio; even though you’re indoors, the large windows admit a substantial amount of natural light). The slab on the left-hand side is part of a “bridge” that joins Campbell Hall to the Art and Architecture library. Surprisingly, the bridge does not actually join the buildings; one cannot enter the library from the architecture building (or vice versa) through the bridge.

As for the composition itself, I tried to capture the major building elements that converge at this particular location, but from an unusual point of view. Given all the linear elements and rectangular volumes, I wanted to get the perspective as close to orthogonal as possible; due to the fact that I was holding the camera by hand, it isn’t perfect. Nonetheless, I think it worked well, and if nothing else, I like how the elements all imply various directions in the different axes.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

