Carbide and Carbon (Chicago)

2009/07/31

Yes, I know…another post; well, don’t freak out, but there may be more today, too. I just took a shower, so now, I’ve got a little energy back, and I think I’ve finally re-hydrated myself well enough to flush out whatever remains of the scotch I consumed last night. That, and I want to fill out my new post category a bit, so enjoy, and hopefully, it won’t end up being too much.

DSCN2077A

Yes, I know…its in color! Well, as previously mentioned, I shoot all my digital photos in color first, and convert them to black and white in post processing. In this case, however, I wanted the photo to be in color, for reasons that should be obvious.

This building, as the title of this post indicates, is the Carbide and Carbon Building in Chicago; the building was originally designed by the Burnham Brothers, and was completed in 1929. Obviously, it was designed in the Art Deco style. Those of you who saw the 2008 film, Wanted, will likely recognize this building as part of the setting for the opening scene.

As for the photo itself, it required little post-processing, as the light was good on this particular day, and the gold trim was quite stunning. I was fortunate to capture some clouds in the background in this photo, as I have shot this building a few times, and it just didn’t look right to me without something in the background. Regardless, the building is a stunning example of the early 20C Art Deco style.

Enjoy.

One Response to “Carbide and Carbon (Chicago)”


  1. […] This building once housed the Monroe Office of Illinois Bell Telephone, now currently owned by AT&T; the building was completed in 1932 and designed by Holabird & Root. As with many Art Deco buildings here in Chicago, this building is fairly restrained, with relatively simple, low-relief¬†decorative panels between the windows, and above the main entrance doors. This seems to be the prevalent standard for Art Deco buildings in Chicago – most of the exuberance in the exteriors is in low-relief sculptural panels, but not much in the way of polychromatic masonry and/or metal detailing. Perhaps, that’s why I’m so enamored of the Carbide & Carbon Building. […]


Leave a Reply

