Nothing on my mind, 01 September 2009

2009/09/01

Yes, another photo post, since I’ve been lazy today, it’s getting late, and I’m getting sleepy. Besides, y’all aren’t really interested in all the political garbage, anyways, are you? Didn’t think so.

DSCN9195A

I shot this photo during a “rain delay” [1] on my volunteer trip to Clintwood, Virginia. As we were using many power tools at the time (all of which required dropcord [2] connections to power), we decided it probably was not wise to continue working while the rain fell all over our dropcords and tools.

As for the photo itself, yes, that is alot of green. That was the point. That, and the raindrops, of course. I shot this photo at 1/60 sec., which was still fast enough to hand-hold, and slow enough to render the raindrops as blurry streaks. I also set the aperture to its widest setting, so that I could render the background fuzzy, as you can see here. Simple tricks, to be sure, but still. [3]

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: Yes, I know…a sports term. Hey, I do know some of the terminology, even if I don’t bother watching them. At the very least, one can pick up a reasonable understanding of the fundamentals of each particular sport, just by hanging out with people who do enjoy watching them. In this case, it is also as appropriate a term as I can conjure up, since, well, its so very descriptive of the situation.

[2]: “Extension” cord, for those of y’all who aren’t familiar with the term. The term “dropcord” is fairly common among builders, but substantially less so among all other users. And before you ask, no, I have no idea why this is.

[3]: Fine…I can admit it: most of what I do is very simple. Hey, I am the slow one in my family, after all. Additionally, since I am almost entirely self-taught in such matters, I suspect that a retarded monkey could figure out how to do this, as well. On the other hand, I’m actually doing it on a regular basis, which implies a certain liking for the activity, and which may be somewhat less common among various folks. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

