Reflections, 10 September 2009

2009/09/10

Actually, the title refers to the literal definition, so don’t expect any deep and meaningful revelations about my personal life in this post. Y’all should know better than to expect that by now.

P80-Orf_Reflections_2009-09_10A

And yes, before you ask, that grotesque shape in those reflections is me, so I suppose this counts as a self-portrait, of sorts. Hey, I’d try to shoot a photo like this by having the camera float magically in place, while I trip the shutter from a location that would not appear in the resulting photo, but since my camera does not support a remote shutter release, and we don’t have anti-gravity technology, I’m stuck doing things the old-fashioned way. Oh well…at least you can see that I’m human (mostly), so that counts for something, right?

The photo itself was a fairly straightforward black and white conversion, so there’s not much to tell there. I shot this photo while walking around in Portsmouth, Virginia; Portsmouth, for those of you who don’t know, is across the Elizabeth River from Norfolk (my hometown). Regarding manipulations, I had to burn the small reflection in the center of the door, since it was slightly overexposed in the original; this typically happens when shooting a scene that contains both very bright and very dark subjects. I also increased the contrast, since the original was a little flat – the light wasn’t particularly good when I shot the original. Other than that, there’s not much else to tell.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

