Another Velvia slide, 15 September 2009

2009/09/15

Yes, I know…this probably borders on overload, but like I said, I’m trying to take as much advantage of my internet connection at the moment, so please bear with me. I’m supposed to get a replacement for my broadband card tomorrow, but I have no idea if that will fix the problem (or if the replacement will actually arrive tomorrow). We’ll see, I suppose. Meanwhile, here’s another scan of one of the Velvia slides I recently shot.

RetIIc-ORF_PagPark02

The subject of this photo is part of the pagoda roof in the Pagoda Park in downtown Norfolk, Virginia. There used to be a website for the park, but I can’t seem to locate it now; as I recall, the pagoda itself was a gift from Taiwan (I think). [1] Regarding the photo itself, I was mostly interested in seeing if the film could replicate the colors of the roof tiles, and that phenomenal blue sky backdrop. I think both turned out well. Also, there’s the dragon heads and the little sculptural things on top of the roof. [2]

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: You know, the other smaller China that the bigger China doesn’t want to acknowledge as an independent country. Yeah, that one.

[2]: No, I have no idea what they’re called, but when I was visiting Hong Kong with my family, our tour guide explained that they are supposed to ward off fire. Yeah, that kind of fire…you know. The real kind. Hey, it makes sense, given that nearly all traditional Chinese architecture is made of wood.

Leave a Reply

