Among the willows, 20 September 2009

2009/09/20

I happen to like willow leaves, so I photograph them often. Or, more specifically, I photograph them as frequently as I can. Sometimes, I just can’t get the kind of shot I want; other times, the wind kicks up the fronds, and I lose the shot I want to take. I suppose these things happen. Anyways, enjoy the photo.

AE1P_Orf-WillowLeaves02

Photo Information:

Camera: Canon AE-1 Program
Lens: Canon 50mm f/1.4 FD
Film: Fuji Velvia 100F 35mm slide film
Exposure: TTL metering

This particular willow tree is one of a few in the Pagoda Park in downtown Norfolk, Virginia. As you can see, the photo is just barely in focus – and then, only in very isolated parts. Part of the problem here is that the 50mm f/1.4 lens, as great a lens as it is, has a minimum focal distance of around 1 ¼ feet; the other part, of course, is that I shot this photo at the maximum aperture on the lens (f/1.4). In order to isolate these leaves as I have, I had to stand at almost precisely the minimum focal distance for the lens; using the widest aperture setting means that any slight movement (either on my part, or on the part of the willow frond) will force the subject out of focus in the resulting image. Here, of course, is where the wind can cause me no end of headaches. That said, using these settings allowed me to capture these leaves, while leaving the background extraordinarily indistinct, helping to further isolate the leaves. I like it, even if the leaves are just barely in focus.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

