Fractured, 08 October 2009

2009/10/08

No, don’t worry…I haven’t broken anything physical, mental, [1] or spiritual. Seeing as how it’s pretty late in the day, it seems unlikely that I will, either. Well, probably. No, the title of this post is, in fact, quite literal, [2] as you’ll see below.

P80-ORF_BrokenView01-2009_09-02

This was a straightforward black and white conversion from a color digital photo. The original had a bit of the window frame in the view, but I cropped out those parts, since they didn’t contribute anything substantial to the composition. It took a bit of maneuvering to get my camera’s autofocus mechanism to focus on the reflected image, rather than the glass itself, but I think it was worth the effort.

As for the location, the house where I found this window (and the one in the background) is in the Parkview neighborhood of Portsmouth, Virginia. The house itself is currently undergoing renovations, so eventually, this broken window pane will be replaced.

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: Oh, right. You can’t break something that’s already broken.

[2]: Yes, I know. For a creative type, I’m not very creative when it comes to naming things. I suspect that if I ever have children, [*] their names will be John, Mary, Ed, Jane, etc. Or just numbers. Or maybe alphanumeric codes. I haven’t decided yet.

[*]: I put the odds of this happening at one in a…very big number. Let’s just say that I consider it less likely than winning the lottery, getting struck by lightning, and being attacked by a shark in the same day. Suffice it to say, if I’ve got children of my own, something has gone horribly, horribly wrong. I suppose, however, that y’all can take some solace in the fact that Armageddon will swiftly ensue.

Leave a Reply

