Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, 12 October 2009

2009/10/13

Just a quick note, since I noticed this article [1] while checking the news on my phone…while having a smoke. [2]

Is it just me, or does it strike anyone else as odd that the hospital in question would knowingly transplant damaged organs as a means of “prolonging” the recipients’ lives? Because, seriously? That’s what a smoker’s lungs are: damaged. [3] And yet, someone thought this was not only a good idea, it is such a good idea that this is standard policy for the hospital in question! Okay, I will admit that there are certainly situations that warrant the “out-of-the-box” sort of solution, but when it comes to people’s lives?!?

All I can say is, if I’m ever in the U.K. and need an organ transplant, fly my ass back home first!!!

Notes:

[1]: CNN article, 12 October 2009.

[2]: Okay, okay…a quick, ironic note.

[3]: I have no illusions about my filthy habit. I know what it is doing to me, and I know what it can do to me in the future. And yet, I still do it. Because I like it.

Leave a Reply

