Fuji Provia 100F, 12 November 2009

2009/11/13

Yeah, I know…it really isn’t the 12th anymore, but as y’all may have guessed, I don’t always let the real world get in the way of my perceptions.

As the title of this post suggests, I shot the photo below using Fuji’s Provia 100F “slide” film. [1]

Hass500C_Orf-Provia100F_LafRiverSunset01

Photo Information:

Camera: Hasselblad 500CM
Lens: Carl Zeiss Planar 80mm f/2.8
Film: Fuji Provia 100F ISO 100 (120)
Metering: [2]

Later on, I’ll write a bit more about the differences I’ve noticed between shooting this film and Fuji’s similar [3] Velvia film. For now, bask in the glow of sunset over the Lafayette River (part of it, anyways) in Norfolk, Virginia.

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: In medium format, this really isn’t a “slide” film, since nobody mounts slides in this size. Officially, all slide films are color-reversal films, since they yield a “positive” image once processed, as opposed to a negative image that most typical color films produce. Like Velvia film, Provia is also color balanced for daylight exposures, as opposed to “indoor” slide films that are balanced for studio lighting (there is a vast difference between these color balances, but I won’t get into that here).

[2]: Unlike most of my medium format shots, I did not use my spotmeter to determine the appropriate exposure settings for this photo. Since the days are now much shorter than they were in summertime, the sunlight fades quite a bit more rapidly than it does during the longer days. As such, I metered the scene using my digital camera, then extrapolated the settings for an ISO 100 film (I almost invariably have my digital camera’s ISO equivalency set at ISO 64).

[3]: Similar in that both are E-6 color reversal films, and both are available in ISO 100. Apart from that, though, there are some substantial differences, too. Again, I’ll get into that at a later time. Right now, I need sleep.

Leave a Reply

