Fuji Velvia 100F, 29 November 2009

2009/11/29

For various reasons, I’ve been away from the blog for a spell…hope y’all have gotten along alright without me. Since I’m a bit worn out today, here’s another photo for your enjoyment.

LeicaIIIf_Orf-Velvia100F_LafRivSunset02

Photo Information:

Camera: Leica IIIf
Lens: Leitz Elmar 35mm f/3.5
Film: Fuji Velvia 100F (35mm) Slide Film
Metering: [1]

I shot this while standing on the Willow Wood Drive bridge over the Lafayette River, facing west towards the Granby Street Bridge in Norfolk, Virginia. Obviously, I shot this at sunset; due to the silhouette created by the backlit scene, you can’t really see the Granby Street Bridge, though if you look carefully at the center of the shadow, you can see the support struts for the bridge. The sign in the water on the left is a marker of some kind, though I’m not sure what sort it is; probably a warning marker for submerged obstructions, or something of that sort. I do like how it sits there all by itself. I think it adds a sense of loneliness to the scene, but that may just be me.

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: As with the sunset scene I shot on my Hasselblad using Fuji’s Provia film, I metered this scene using my digital camera. Since I normally keep my digital camera set at ISO 64 (equivalent), I just had to double one of the settings (shutter speed or aperture) to get a correct reading for ISO 100 film. Okay, so 100 is slightly less than twice 64, but it’s close enough for these purposes.

Leave a Reply

