Kirkland Signature ISO 400, Expired – 03 January 2010

2010/01/03

Yes, I know…I’m getting a post written before midnight – *GASP* – how novel, right? Well, in my defense, today IS Sunday, and while I do intend to do some work later on, I won’t, y’know, be working particularly hard. So, for today’s offering, I have a little story to tell.

I recently spent some time back home on the East Coast working a freelance job, and to save on costs (since I was still paying rent up here in Chicago), I stayed at my parents’ house. While rummaging around the now-unused upstairs, I came across an old roll of color film, the titular Kirkland Signature film. [1] The last time I shot this film was in late 2002, [2] and sure enough, the film canister had a little note printed on it that read, “11, 2002” – which means it expired over seven years ago. Naturally, I saw this as a golden opportunity to play with some film that now exists in a rather unique condition. Below is one of the results.

N80_Orf-KirkS400_Warehouse01

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon N80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 70-210mm f/3.5-5.6
Film: Kirkland Signature ISO 400 (35mm), Expired
Metering: TTL

I did adjust the contrast a bit, since the photo was rather washed-out, but the colors are more or less what the film captured. For reference, below is a “correct” view of the same scene that I shot using my digital camera.

P80-Orf_Warehouse-01_2009-11_15

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon Coolpix P80
ISO Setting: 64 (Equivalent)
Color Setting: Vivid
Metering: TTL

This photo, of course, has been fully manipulated to make it a “correct” version of the scene. As you can plainly see, the colors in the former image are rather odd, compared to the corrected version. Of course, one can never predict how expired film will react; I also recently shot an expired roll of Kodak Elitechrome slide film, and everything was red-shifted (and rather unusable, so I discarded the scans and slides). In this case, the color balance still appears mostly “correct,” just again, odd.

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: For those of you who don’t know, Kirkland Signature is the generic brand sold by Costco; they use the brand name for a wide variety of products including, apparently, film.

[2]: Don’t go criticizing my choice here; this was long before I knew (or cared) about the various color films. At this point in my photographic activities, I was primarily shooting black and white, and didn’t much care what kind of color film I used, so long as it was, y’know, color.

Leave a Reply

