Mitsubishi MX-III, 07 January 2010

2010/01/08

Those of you who’ve read some of my previous posts [1] already know that I received a roll of expired Mitsubishi color film [2] as a freebie from the photo lab I frequent when I’m back home on the east coast. A few weeks before I came back to Chicago, I acquired the last roll they had, [3] and proceeded to run it through my Leica – you know, because I was bored and such. As with the previous roll, this one produced, shall we say, some rather unique results.

LeicaIIIf_Orf-MitsMXIII400_ElizRivSunset01

Photo Information:

Camera: Leica IIIf
Lens: Leitz Elmar 35mm f/3.5
Film: Mitsubishi MX-III ISO 400, expired (35mm)
Metering: Minolta Spotmeter F

The colors in the sky start out seemingly rather natural, but as you get closer to the sunset, well. Yup, the yellow and red tones take a dive off the deep end, and turned out rather, well, you can see for yourself. There’s also a bit of overexposure in the sky, as those white areas weren’t really white in the original view. Unfortunately, in this case, I didn’t shoot a comparable digital shot, so I can’t compare the two as I did with the Kirkland film a little while back. In fact, I don’t think I duplicated any of these in digital, so I won’t be able to make any comparisons whatsoever. Still, anyone with a reasonable appreciation of color and such will probably notice the unnatural colors here. [4]

The subject of this photo is a view of sunset over Portsmouth, Virginia, as seen from across the Elizabeth River in Norfolk. Those of y’all who might be noticing a pattern in my recent photographic posts would be correct to surmise that I’ve spent the past few months in Norfolk. Yup, fun times!

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: Yes, all four of you.

[2]: Yup, that’s right…Mitsubishi sells its own branded film. I wouldn’t be surprised if it is film stock produced by another company and sold under the Mitsubishi brand, but I couldn’t find much information on the film online (shocking!), so I can’t verify this.

[3]: A little background: apparently, the film was a gift from another patron who had acquired four rolls of this film…somewhere (I don’t recall the specifics). Since this was a donation, the store didn’t have item/stock numbers, prices, etc. for the rolls, so they were just sitting around in the store fridge (okay, one of the managers also used at least one, and I shot two; I don’t know what happened to the other one). In my defense, I offered to pay for the roll, but due to the aforementioned lack of official information regarding the film, I was able to walk out with it (don’t worry…I also bought a rather pricey roll of slide film, too). I also paid for the processing and scanning for the roll, so there.

[4]: Hey, I can figure out that something don’t look right here, and I’m horrible at identifying and matching colors. No, really…I usually stick to rather simple color combinations because I really can’t match subtle shades of color to save my life. As such, if you see me wearing something that doesn’t seem like if quite fits that description, its a safe bet my sister had a hand in the selection! She’s much better at this sort of thing than I am, and she’s not shy about sharing this skill – which is good for me, because it makes me look more stylish than I otherwise ever would! Families are fun.

2 Responses to “Mitsubishi MX-III, 07 January 2010”


  1. Hi. I stumble upon your blog when I was searching about Mitsubishi film. I recently bought a roll of Mitsubishi film and took some shoots with it.

    This picture is gorgeous!

    • seeker312 Says:

      Thanks! I’d actually be interested to see how this film looks in its intended state; as mentioned, I’ve only ever shot the film after it has expired, so I don’t even know what it was supposed to look like when new!


Leave a Reply

