Under the Cold Streetlight, 27 January 2010

2010/01/28

Yeah, I know…I’m getting a post written for two days in a row – *gasp*! Well, what can I say? Sometimes, I manage my time in a reasonably efficient manner. Sometimes.

AE1P_Orf-Acros100_OldTowneStreetlight01

Photo Information:

Camera: Canon AE-1 Program
Lens: Canon 50mm f/1.4
Film: Fuji Neopan Acros 100 (35mm)
Metering: TTL

The title of this post comes from, of all places, a song, specifically, Long Road to Ruin by the Foo Fighters. [1] The line seems appropriate, I think…and yes, before you ask, it was cold that night.

This particular streetlamp is in the Olde Towne neighborhood in Portsmouth, Virginia. Given that I shot this around midnight, I didn’t have to wait for any cars to pass by to capture the shot in its rather empty state. There are traffic lights at this intersection, which helped dictate my using the normal lens, instead of a wideangle.  [2] Of course, even if the traffic lights weren’t there to interfere with a wideangle frame, there really wasn’t much else around the edges that I wanted to capture, anyways.

Not much else to say about the shot. I did get a weird optical (or possibly scanning) defect near the streetlamp starburst, but I am rather proud to say that I was able to remove it without adversely affecting the glow of the streetlamp. [3]

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: This is one of my favorite songs of theirs; I rather like the line, “Long road to ruin there in your eyes,” but since I don’t photograph people, I can’t really use that line, now can I? “Under the cold streetlights” isn’t a bad line, either, so I’m not complaining.

[2]: Whenever possible, I also like to avoid the optical distortions inherent in wideangle shots. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate a good wideangle shot as much as the next guy, but I’m also not crazy about distortion, either. Its a rather fine distinction, to be sure, but such are my preferences.

[3]: Anyone who’s tried cleaning up a defect in an area with a tonal gradient will appreciate the difficulty of this, I’m sure. It’s even worse when the gradient is arrayed in a freakin’ circle.

Leave a Reply

