Waiting for You, 06 March 2010

2010/03/07

Hey look: another photo of an empty chair!

D80-CHI_StoneChair01-2010_03-06A

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 85mm f/1.8
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid [1]
Metering: TTL

Oh sure, I could photograph chairs with people, y’know…actually sitting in them. But then again, what fun would that be? [2]

As for the photo itself, I shot this earlier this afternoon at the newly-opened addition to the Art Institute of Chicago in, well, downtown Chicago. [3] Actually, the chair is part of a sculpture garden on the roof. Rather than shoot the photo from relatively nearby using the normal lens, I stepped back several feet and used the portrait lens on its widest aperture setting (f/1.8) instead, so that I could render the background indistinct due to the shallow depth of field. Apart from that, the color conversion was rather straightforward, so there isn’t much else to say about the photo. Nice shape to the chair, though.

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: I also suppose I don’t actually need to mention the color setting on my camera when I’m posting a black and white conversion, but OTOH, I’m sure there’s some sort of connection between the color tones and something or other. I don’t know…I’m pretty tired, so I’m probably not thinking coherently. Or some such.

[2]: None at all, of course! And besides, if I did that, I wouldn’t be able to publish posts with such suggestive titles…not that I consider that when I’m out shooting, of course. Because that’d be silly.

[3]: This sentence brought to you by the Department of Redundancy Department…

Leave a Reply

