Between the Darkness and the Light, 28 March 2010

2010/03/28

Okay, okay, the title isn’t entirely accurate, since I was actually in the shadows when I shot this photo, but it sure does sound nice as a title, don’t it? [1]

D80-CHI_AtticShadows_2010-03_12A

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 DX
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

The subject of this photo is the rough framing in a residential attic. I was in said attic because I was verifying dimensions for the construction drawings required for this particular project. [2]If that sounds complicated, it actually isn’t; what it really means is that I spent most of the day walking around the house with a tape measure and checking the distance from one reference point to another. [3] The house itself is in the Rogers Park neighborhood on the north side of Chicago. As for the photo itself, well. I just like the lighting and shadows. Oh, and I have an affinity for construction sites…occupational hazard, I suppose. [4]

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: It also happens to be the title of one of my favorite episodes of a certain TV series…

[2]: In case you’re interested, the designer / contractor for the project is Hudson Home, Inc. You can find their website here…if you check out the “West Town Single Family” project, you’ll see some of my handiwork (photographic, anyways).

[3]: Um, okay…so I suck at the simplified description of things.

[4]: Y’know, cuz there’s so many neat little things to see in ’em. Oh, and I like seeing the progress of a given project.

Leave a Reply

