On The Edge, 24 June 2010

2010/06/24

Whilst walking around at Montrose Harbor, I had originally thought about posting a photo of the spectacular Chicago skyline or something from the Harbor itself…then I found this tenacious little bugger. The skyline can wait.

D80-CHI_OnTheEdge01_2010-06_24B

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 60mm f/2.8 Micro [1]
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

Those of y’all who have been following these posts for some time [2] will probably remember a somewhat similar shot from way, way back in the day. Something about how this little guy (and others like him – or her) decided to sprout in the most unlikely of places [3] just seems appealing to me, for some reason. What can I say? I’m weird like that.

As for the photo itself, the colors were originally a bit more muted than what you see here…then, after adjusting the contrast somewhat, the colors started to pop out a bit more, so I pushed it just a tad further. I have been noticing lately that even on the “Vivid” setting, my D80 doesn’t often come close to matching the sorts of colors I was capturing with slide film last year…I suppose this is why we have digital post-processing. *Sigh*

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: As I have mentioned before, don’t get all confused here…this is just Nikon’s proprietary way of referring to Macro lenses. I suspect that they’ve abandoned this confusing terminology, though, since their current lineup of point-and-shoot digital cameras uses the correct term (macro) for the function, rather than Micro.

[2]: By my count, this should number somewhere around four. Or three. Actually, I have no clue…I don’t bother trying to track how many folks follow this thing (or ignore it, for that matter). As with most of my creative endeavors, I actually don’t much care how many folks see what I’m doing. Mostly, I’m doing this because I can.

[3]: In this case, from the minute gap between the steel shoring and concrete traffic surface of the walkway along the lakefront at Montrose Harbor. This seems to be the default construction type for much of the newer lakefront walkways in the city, as I’ve also seen this sort of combo at the North Avenue Beach and along the sides of the Museum Campus. For those of y’all who remember the photo I posted last year, the walkway was similar, but it was at the Museum Campus.

Leave a Reply

