Isolation, 01 July 2010

2010/07/02

Have you ever felt small and alone when you’re facing the immensity and splendor of the world around you? I have.

D80-CHI_Isolation03_2010-06_29B

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 DX
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

Go ahead…you can admit if you’ve felt that way, too. Mind you, I’m not saying that this is necessarily a bad thing. We get so caught up in the minutiae of our daily lives that sometimes, it might be helpful to place things in perspective.

Enjoy.

Note: Regarding the photo itself, I shot this facing east towards Lake Michigan from the riverwalk near Irving Park (in the Uptown neighborhood). The sky, as you can see, was rather impressive; despite this, I did some minor dodging and burning here (yes, I did, in fact, burn the sky…if only that was as fun as it sounded). I intentionally exposed for the sky so that the tree and foreground would be rendered in silhouette. I think it makes for a rather interesting composition.

4 Responses to “Isolation, 01 July 2010”

  1. alglass Says:

    I just stumbled upon your blog looking through the photography tags pages and you have some fantastic photos here! Judging from the blog posts, I am guessing you are either a professional photographer or at least well-versed in the art! I was wondering what makes you decide to choose to take a photo in black and white. Whenever I consider doing so, I often worry that I will regret the decision later!

    • seeker312 Says:

      Ha! I’m no pro…or, more accurately, I have no professional training. Just years and years of independent study. WRT black and white shots, with digital, I always shoot in color and convert to black and white after the fact. I have occasionally found that a shot I intended to convert didn’t work at all in black and white, but worked better in color, so it seems prudent to shoot in color by default. Of course, when I shoot with black and white film, I know that I’m limited to the monochromatic, so I tend to look for compositions that I know will work well in black and white…but that doesn’t always work, either. As with most creative activities, success or failure is very much about experimenting with your chosen medium…sometimes, you’ll fall flat on your face (as I have often – figuratively speaking, of course), but that also opens up the possibility of capturing something truly spectacular.

      • alglass Says:

        Yes, I thought of the fact that photos can be edited afterwards to be made black and white after I had written that comment! A little slow of me! I suppose I’ll have to practise and work it out myself. Everyone has their own style, I guess. Thanks for the reply!

      • seeker312 Says:

        Depending on how you choose to look at it, digital post-processing isn’t much different from more traditional (i.e. darkroom) techniques; indeed, some of the tools in Photoshop are named after the functions one would perform in a darkroom. As mentioned, I’m mostly averse to doing this out of laziness, but I (obviously) will perform post-processing tasks when necessary.

        And yes, you’re right…there is no substitute for practice at one’s chosen craft, whatever that may be. I’ve been independently “studying” photography for nearly ten years now, and I’m there are still some things that mystify me (like flashes, for example…never learned how to use ’em)!


Leave a Reply

