Isolation, 12 July 2010

2010/07/12

Because I’m trying to make you feel all crappy and depressed.

D80-CHI_Isolation04_2010-07_09B

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 20mm f/2.8
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

Oh, alright…I’m not trying to make you feel bad. Honest. It seems a bit paradoxical, but for some odd reason, I enjoy seeking out images of such isolation while I’m surrounded by one of the largest cities in the world. Perhaps, I’m doing this whole urban existence thing wrong. In any event, Lake Michigan provides many opportunities for such views…standing at the shore, it sure doesn’t look like a lake. More like an ocean, in fact…though I do much prefer swimming in salt water, but that’s a story for…never.

As for the color setting, oh yeah, like you couldn’t tell without my saying so? Actually, as per usual, the colors didn’t quite look like this when I loaded the image onto my computer…I had to play with it a little bit in post processing. As for the boat, believe it or not, I hadn’t originally intended to have it in the shot – and after catching it, I wish it had been planned from the start. I actually shot a couple versions of this just before the boat passed by, then as it was passing, I figured, “Why not?” Turns out, I like it bettern with the boat than without. I think it helps to add a sense of scale. Or some fancy term like that.

Enjoy.

7 Responses to “Isolation, 12 July 2010”


  1. great shot! great color

    • seeker312 Says:

      Amazing what one can accomplish with post-processing hue/saturation adjustment, eh?

      Actually, I have written previously about from whence the inspiration for this sort of highly saturated color comes. It’s actually from a color reversal (slide) film that I’ve previously shot, and which has some amazing color saturation in its results. Obviously, the look doesn’t work for all subjects (people, in particular, probably wouldn’t benefit from this sort of treatment – but then again, I rarely (if ever) photograph people, so it is of little concern to me), but shots like this are just begging for it. On a related note, I actually have the color setting on my camera set to “More Vivid” by default, and I still have to adjust the colors in post-processing. If slide film weren’t so darn expensive, I’d shoot that exclusively for color work, instead!

  2. alglass Says:

    What a gorgeous photograph! I agree that the boat adds another dimension (to what I imagine the photo would look like without it!). May I ask which editing software you use?

    • seeker312 Says:

      Thanks…yes, the boat does make it a much better shot, IMHO. Wish I’d thought of it before it stumbled across my path!

      As for software, I’m currently using Adobe Photoshop; I try to do as little post-processing as I can, not for any ideological reasons, but because I just don’t like doing it. I’d rather get as much as I can out of the camera first, then adjust as necessary in post. Of course, in the case of a photo like this one, I choose to adjust the saturation in post processing, since my camera doesn’t want to cooperate with me on this. It is a bit annoying, since I know that the various slide films I’ve used (Fuji Velvia is currently my favorite) will produce such colors more or less right out of the camera – the first camera in which I shot such film was an old Kodak Retina (basically the 1950’s film version of a point-and-shoot camera), which had few exposure controls – none of them automatic. I found out by happy accident that underexposing seems to work well for it (I had accidentally left my light meter set to ISO 200, when the film was ISO 100), and I’ve been captivated by it ever since. What color shots I do take are all inspired by those results.

      • alglass Says:

        I know what you mean about wishing you had thought of it rather than it being an “accident”. That can be annoying!

        The rest of your reply was definitely a lot more ‘professional’ than I can pretend to understand, but I think I got the general idea! I have used Photoshop to create images or combine photographs but not to edit photos in the way you describe. I should probably try it out!

        P.S. I didn’t find this photo depressing at all. On the contrary, I find it quite relaxing!

      • seeker312 Says:

        Oops…geek moment there. Happens a bit, since I’ve got a bunch of uncategorized information floating around in my head at any given time. Hue, saturation, and contrast tools in Photoshop are actually fairly intuitive…though they can be a bit sensitive. The upshot is that they all have a live preview function, so you can see how your adjustments affect the image in real-time (or close to it, depending on how fast or slow your computer happens to be). I’d suggest just playing around with the tools and seeing what they do…sure, you could buy a book, but that requires, y’know, reading. I acquired most of my software skills from just pushing buttons and seeing what the did…if the computer crashes as a result, then I know not to try whatever I was doing from that point on! 😉

  3. greysqrl Says:

    I like it. I like those isolation photos. Very good. 🙂


Leave a Reply

