Water Droplets, 13 July 2010

2010/07/13

Since I’m already here this morning, and I’m planning on taking most of today off, I suppose I can get the blogging out of the way now, and free up the rest of my day! [1]

D80-CHI_WaterDroplet01_2010-07_08B

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 60mm f/2.8 Micro
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

Yup…a water droplet. This isn’t actually dew, though, since it was the result of an early morning shower. This particular shrub is outside my front porch, [2] so it made for an easy shoot!

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: Okay, okay…it doesn’t take me all day to write one of these…I’m not that bad!

[2]: In the Uptown neighborhood of Chicago. And that’s as specific as I’m going to get.

6 Responses to “Water Droplets, 13 July 2010”


  1. This is a great shot! Love the detail, the color, and the DOF!

    • seeker312 Says:

      Thanks! Partly as a result of having played around with the macro setting on my older point-and-shoot digital cameras, I have become much more enamored by the shallow DOF shots in general. Of course, this macro lens (or, in Nikon’s ass-backwards parlance, Micro) excels at such shots (naturally). Bit tricky to work with, though, since it is so very, very good at isolating focus on a specific subject.

  2. greysqrl Says:

    Hey… lovely photograph, very sharp, very elegant. I like this image a lot. It’s the sort of thing I’d walk past and not give a second thought to photographing. Very nice job. 🙂

    • seeker312 Says:

      Thanks!

      I often have moments where I have to a double-take, as I walk past something, then realize in hindsight that it might make a worthwhile photograph. Of course, half the time, I end up deciding that it really isn’t worth it! In this case, I didn’t have any excuse for missing this shot…as mentioned in the description, the shrub is right outside my apartment, so it was rather hard to miss!

  3. iheartfilm Says:

    I almost got that lens (60/2.8), but I went with the Sigma 100/2.8 macro instead. How do you like the 60?

    • seeker312 Says:

      It’s actually a lens I inherited from my Father, so choice wasn’t so much involved; that being said, I do enjoy using it. The short telephoto setting on a DX sensor makes it versatile, in case I want to use it as a portrait lens for “normal” shooting. On a real 35mm SLR, it is also an amazing lens. Definitely enjoying it.


Leave a Reply

