Lake Michigan Sunrise, 31 August 2010

2010/08/31

So, a few weeks back, I finally got to see sunrise over Lake Michigan…I’ve been living in Chicago for two years now, and it’s taken this long for me to do it! [1] Of course, I’ve also been swamped with work in the past few weeks, so I’m just now getting around to posting it. [2]

D80-CHI_LakeSunrise01_2010-07_22B

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 DX
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

As per usual with these digital shots, I had to enhance the colors a bit in post processing so that they’d “pop” a little better. When Nikon describes the white balance setting as “More Vivid,” it seems that they’re exaggerating just a bit. [3] As for the photo itself, purty, ain’t it? It’s hard to tell with all the color blending going on, but there was actually a substantial fog bank hovering over the Lake, and it moved onto shore soon after I shot this. [4] Otherwise, I think this adequately captures the feel of an early morning sunrise, don’t you?

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: Those of you who know me in real life know just how I abhor early mornings (and mornings in general, for that matter). As for how I accomplished capturing this shot…simple: I stayed up all night, then walked out to the Lake when it started getting light out. Actually, this was quite a bit more difficult than it once was…apparently, I can’t keep myself awake for days on end like I once did. Actually, this is not necessarily a bad thing, as I shudder to think what sorts of abuse I inflicted on myself by staying awake for days at a time (seriously…staying awake for five days in a row just doesn’t seem like such a good idea in retrospect).

[2]: Hence, my absence from the blog for over a month, as mentioned in my earlier posts from this past weekend…

[3]: The fact that I’ve been exposed (no pun intended…honest) to the color results from Fuji’s color reversal films doesn’t help here. It’s hard not to notice, though, as the Velvia and Provia shots I took last year as just so much more…vivid.

[4]: More on that later…probably.

[5]: In case you’re wondering, I shot this photo from Montrose Harbor, on the narrow arm of land that encloses the harbor proper. From the eastern side of that arm, there is an unobstructed view across the vast (and I do mean vast) expanse of Lake Michigan. Not so interesting on any normal day, but during a slightly cloudy sunrise? Oh my…

3 Responses to “Lake Michigan Sunrise, 31 August 2010”


  1. Amazing photograph!! This is great!
    I’ve been to lake michigan a couple times, but never caught a shot like this.

    • seeker312 Says:

      Thanks. And yup, timing is everything. As mentioned in the post, I’ve been wanting to shoot one of these for a couple years now, but I finally got the opportunity to do it, so I grabbed it when I could. I was exhausted after the shoot, but meh. The things we do for our chosen craft, right?

  2. aspie Says:

    Wow…


Leave a Reply

