Isolation, 19 September 2010

2010/09/19

The photo below is a counterpart to a photo I posted here a few months back [1] – scroll down on the main page, and you’ll likely still see it.

D80-ORF_Isolation06_2010-09_03B

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 DX
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

As you’ll no doubt see, there are a few common elements to the scene: a sailboat, water, [2] and sunset. Of course, the location is different – I shot this one on the Elizabeth River in Norfolk, Virginia, whilst I shot the previous photo on Lake Michigan [3] in Chicago. As with the previous photo, this was more of a snapshot than a planned photo, but I noticed the similarities, and shot it. Didn’t need to worry too much about exposure in this case, since I was already shooting the sunset, and thus, the exposure would be the same. [4]

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: Yeah, I’ve been a bit lax in my posting schedule lately. I blame it on work. And laziness.

[2]: Should be pretty obvious, since this is a sine qua non [*] (mostly) for boats and such. Er, unless you’re photographing them on land, that is…which I wasn’t.

[*]: It’s Latin, in case you’re confused. Look it up, if you don’t know what it means. And no, not that kind of Latin, the other kind.

[3]: Technically, it was at the mouth of Montrose Harbor, but that’s close enough.

[4]: Since I was shooting a sunset, I had already metered the scene to keep only the sky and water colored, whilst leaving the rest of the scene (mainly the opposite shore of the river) in silhouette. These settings also worked well for this particular composition, so I didn’t need to adjust anything to take the shot.

3 Responses to “Isolation, 19 September 2010”


  1. Those colors are amazing!
    Great shot!

    • seeker312 Says:

      Thanks! Since last year, when I was first exposed (er, pun intended) to Fuji’s color reversal (slide) films, I’ve been editing my color digital shots to incorporate the sort of saturated look one can find in those shots. Sadly, I’ve been finding even the “vivid” settings on my digital camera quite lacking in this regard, so I’ve had to do it in post processing.

  2. greysqrl Says:

    Really nice photo.


Leave a Reply

