Incandescence, 06 October 2010

2010/10/06

Y’know, from the Latin incandescere, meaning to glow.

D80-CHI_Bonfire01-2010_09-25B

D80-CHI_Bonfire02-2010_09-25B

D80-CHI_Bonfire03-2010_09-25B

D80-CHI_Bonfire04-2010_09-25B

D80-CHI_Bonfire05-2010_09-25B

Photo Information (All):

Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 85mm f/1.8
ISO Equivalency: 1600
Color Setting: Vivid

Okay, to be fair, the Latin word for “to burn” would probably have been more appropriate, but hey. It’s my post, after all, so I can call it whatever I want!

As for the photos, I was sitting roughly five or six feet from the fire, so using the 85mm lens allowed me to capture some close (but not too close) shots of the flames. Nice, aren’t they? Unlike the fireworks photos I shot a few months back, I kept the white balance setting for these as Daylight, even though I was clearly shooting at night, and at a glowing (yes, incandescent) subject. The first few test shots I took revealed that there was little difference between the Daylight and Incandescent white balance settings for the fire, so I left it set for Daylight. Still looks like a nighttime fire, don’t it?

As for the shooting itself? Not much to tell in that regard. Fire being as inherently chaotic as it is, I didn’t have much opportunity to “mold” it into whatever compositions I wanted. In the end, I shot a little over one hundred photos, and selected the best ones for editing and display. Naturally, a good number of those shots won’t be used, either, but that’s the nature of this sort of shooting – and this subject, for that matter.

Oh, and regarding the fire itself, it was set in a firepit in the backyard of one of my friends’ current residence. This being Chicago, and there being rather stringent regulations against doing such things in the city, I won’t identify who or where. It did, however, make for an enjoyable evening, what with the beer and s’mores involved…

Enjoy.

One Response to “Incandescence, 06 October 2010”

  1. greysqrl Says:

    Very nicely done. 🙂


Leave a Reply

