Lily Pond, 27 October 2010

2010/10/28

That last post was a bit of a downer, wasn’t it? Well, not to worry…here’s something a bit more lighthearted.

D80-CHI_LP-LilyPond01-2010_10-27B

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 [1]
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

I had originally intended to post a macro shot of some chrysanthemums that I shot earlier today, but well. Trees are fun, too, right? This particular tree is in a section of Lincoln Park that contains the Lily Pond, [2] now named after its designer, Alfred Caldwell. There’s also a rather nice Prairie Style [3] pavilion next to the pond, but I’ll have to write about that later…I got to the pond just around 1600, so I didn’t have much time to get too many good shots before the Sun sank below the horizon. [4] I’ll get some better daytime shots later.

Oh, and post the photo(s) of the chrysanthemums. Eventually.

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: I know I’ve mentioned this before, but it bears repeating. Yes, you’re reading that right…it’s an f/1.8 telephoto lens. And yes, it is every bit as awesome as that sounds. Okay, to be fair, it is also eminently practical, especially during evenings in the latter part of the year when the Sun starts setting earlier and earlier in the day. The extra aperture settings (several, in the case of comparison with lenses whose maximum aperture is somewhere around f/3.5 – or even worse, f/5.6) are especially helpful in low light settings. Oh sure, I could just adjust the ISO setting on my D80, but remember…I started out shooting film, and you can’t (easily) switch ISO settings on film – and definitely not mid-roll.

[2]: …which is currently devoid of actual lilies, for obvious reasons.

[3]: For those of y’all who don’t know what this means, think Frank Lloyd Wright. Wright was one of the founders and most famous practitioners of the style.

[4]: Or more correctly, below the rather tall buildings that flank Lincoln Park in much the same way that Central Park in NYC is surrounded by tall apartment buildings. Obviously, this offers some choice views for those who live in said buildings, but it gets rather annoying to folks like me on the ground who might appreciate a little more light late in the day…

[*]: And yes, I am well aware that it is no longer the 27th now. Ask me if I care. No, seriously…ask. I dare you.

Leave a Reply

