Fallen, 03 November 2010

2010/11/03

No, not me…just this little leaf.

D80-CHI_Fallen01-2010_10-29B

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 60mm f/2.8 Micro
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

As for that shadow line running diagonally across the photo? It’s from water that was flowing around this particular leaf – the latter had fallen into a fountain in the Alfred Caldwell Lily Pond in Lincoln Park, and well. The way it was diverting the water (not to mention hanging around in place as water flowed around it) looked rather interesting, so I decided to photograph it. This decision, however, also entailed sprawling out on my stomach on a cold slab of rock, whilst simultaneously hanging somewhat precariously over the edge of said slab so that I could get the right angle for the shot. I suspect I looked rather comical, but then again, I don’t much care about that…not like I can impress anyone with my looks, anyways.

As for the photo, it was fairly straightforward – well, except for the macro lens being rather uncooperative, since I had it set to autofocus. Sometimes, this works well, particularly when the focus sensors have something definitive to track; other times, it turns out to be much more expedient to adjust focus manually. It’s a good thing I figured out how to do that early on when I got the D80 (it was a used model, and didn’t come with a manual…or I lost the manual soon after receiving it).

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

