Winter in Chicago, 13 December 2010

2010/12/13

Er, looks like I’ve been neglecting to post stuff again. Work, and such. Anyways, here’s another wintery photo to make up for it.

D80-CHI_SnowyNeedles01-2010_12-05B

Photo Information:

Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 60mm f/2.8
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

This particular tree is part of the Conifer Garden outside the Lincoln Park Conservatory.

Enjoy.

2 Responses to “Winter in Chicago, 13 December 2010”

  1. nigel Says:

    The greens in your photographs always come out so vivid and strong. I love the colour tone that you use..

    • seeker312 Says:

      Thank Photoshop for that. The way I edit my color shots is influenced by my experience with color transparency film, particularly Fuji’s Velvia brand. IIRC, Fuji created it as a “successor” of sorts for Kodak’s now-defunct Kodachrome brand. Both are high-saturation films, so while they’re generally unsuitable for portraits or other photos featuring people, they deliver some stunning colors in pretty much everything else. Even using the “More Vivid” color setting on my DSLR, I still have to bump up the saturation a bit in post-processing to get the results close to what the Velvia film delivers naturally. The end result is a photo where the colors are damn near “screaming” at you, but at the same time, in many cases, I think this is closer to what I see before I take a photo – or what I want to see.


Leave a Reply

