Silence in Stone, 19 January 2011

2011/01/19

Remember how I mentioned that I like seeing statues in black and white? Works for non-humanoid subjects, too!

D80-ORF_SilenceInStone03-2010_12-23B

Photo Information:

Location: Norfolk, Virginia; Ghent Neighborhood
Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 85mm f/1.8
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid (Black & White conversion in post-processing)

Those of y’all who’re long-time readers here (heh) may recall that about a year ago, I posted a similar photo to this one, showing a decorative sculptural feature on the front porch of an apartment building on Colonial Avenue in Norfolk’s Ghent Neighborhood. Of course, at that time I was illustrating Fuji’s superb Neopan Acros 100 film, and as you can see from the photo information, the above photo is from my DSLR. Differences of composition aside, the D80 sure does seem to have done a decent job of re-capturing the shot, don’t you think? Of course, some of this is also due to the adjustments I made to the photo when I converted it to black & white in post-processing. Incidentally, I am also quite proud that upon comparison, my black & white conversion here does look very similar to a true black & white photo (i.e. shot on black & white film) – guess all that practice has paid off, eh?

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

