Winter in Norfolk, 20 January 2011

2011/01/20

Boy, it sure looks like it’ll take me most of this month just to get through the backlog of photos I shot during the two weeks I was in Virginia visiting my folks for Christmas. Maybe I need to shoot fewer photos?

D80-ORF_WinterInNorfolk02-2010_12-27B

D80-ORF_WinterInNorfolk03-2010_12-27B

Photo Information:

Location: Norfolk, Virginia; Freemason District
Camera: Nikon D80
Lens (Upper Photo): Nikon Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 DX
Lens (Lower Photo): Nikon Nikkor 20mm f/2.8
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid (Black & White conversion in post-processing)

The irony of the title for these photos, of course, is that Norfolk rarely ever gets snowfall of this magnitude, much less accumulation of this sort. No, really…look where Virginia sits on a map, and you’ll see why this is so atypical for the region. Such snowfall occurs (at most) once every several years – once a decade wouldn’t be an entirely inaccurate statement, either. Of course, having spent the past few years in Chicago, I look upon such tribulations with a bit of amusement – sympathy, too…I did, after all, grow up in the area, so I am well aware of just how unprepared folks are for such amounts of frozen precipitation. From what I recall, “average” snowfall for the region is typically closer to…an inch. At most. And that’s enough snow to shut down much of the area, so 8 to 12 inches? Yeah. Might as well be the apocalypse!

As for the subject of these two photos, these are a set of row houses in the Freemason District of downtown. They’re a few lots over from the first architectural firm with whom I was employed, so I saw these frequently. I always did like them.

Enjoy.

One Response to “Winter in Norfolk, 20 January 2011”

  1. Paul Davis Says:

    For once Norfolk VA looks a lot like Norfolk UK


Leave a Reply

