Norfolk Skyline, 27 January 2011

2011/01/28

Norfolk has a relatively compact downtown area, but it does have some nice groups of buildings. And of course, I think it looks great at night, from across the Elizabeth River, so here you go!

D80-ORF_Skyline01-2010_12-17B

D80-ORF_Skyline02-2010_12-17B

D80-ORF_Skyline03-2010_12-17B

D80-ORF_Skyline04-2010_12-17B

Photo Information:

Location: Norfolk, Virginia (Shot from Portsmouth, Virginia)
Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 85mm f/1.8
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

The first thing you’ll notice is that I didn’t shoot a single wide-angle shot of the skyline, but composed it of separate, overlapping shots. Of course, I did shoot a couple complete shots; I shot these because, well. I wanted to play with my 85mm f/1.8 lens (and really, who wouldn’t want to play with such a wonderful lens?); I can always stitch these together into a single image if I want to do so, but I also think they look just fine as individual shots, too.

The other thing you’ll probably notice is that all of the buildings are outlined in strings of Christmas lights – this is something the city of Norfolk does every year, and they make a little celebration of when they turn on the lights for the season. It’s something unique that I haven’t seen in too many other locations (well, large cities, anyways), and something I look forward to seeing if and when I’m in town for Christmas.

Finally, look at those light reflections in the River! Since I shot these at ISO 100 (equivalent), each exposure had to be a multi-second timed exposure (average was approx. 3 seconds). Good thing I had my tripod, a nice, sturdy (heavy) Manfrotto, along for the trip!

Enjoy.

2 Responses to “Norfolk Skyline, 27 January 2011”

  1. Paul Davis Says:

    That looks very unlike the original Norfolk in the UK


Leave a Reply

