Metal Sculpture, 01 February 2011

2011/02/01

Have you ever had one of those days when you just feel like you need to take a heavy object and smash it against anything in your path? If so, meet your patron saint!

D80-ORF_MetalMan01-2010_12-20B

Photo Information:

Location: Norfolk, Virginia; Norfolk Botanical Gardens
Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 DX
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

Ironically, despite having some rather extensive employment woes over the past few years (and let’s face it, who hasn’t had those lately?) and other such concerns, I haven’t actually been feeling much stress lately. This seems rather odd to me, as I never fancied the uncertainty of being a starving artist (one of the reasons I studied architecture, rather than art or photography in college), and yet, here I am, anyways. Of course, one could always argue that it was foolish of me to think of architecture as any more predictable a career path than art, but hey…people always need places to live and work, right? Boy was I wrong on that account.

As for the sculpture, I’ve photographed it several times, though this is the first time I’ve presented it in color. All of the other times I photographed it, it was during the late afternoon, and the sun was behind the sculpture, rendering it entirely into silhouette; this time, I shot it in the morning. Also, at least two of the other times I’ve photographed the sculpture, it was with film cameras loaded with black & white film…can’t really capture color images that way, now can I? The sculpture is one of a set that occupies space near a set of greenhouses towards the rear of the Gardens. I’m not real sure of the history behind them, but that’s mainly because I’ve been too lazy to look.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

