Frozen, 14 February 2011

2011/02/14

Seeing as how today is apparently St. Valentine’s Day, [1] I thought I’d share with you the following photo.

D80-CHI_Icicle01-2011_02-08B

Photo Information:

Location: Chicago, Illinois; Uptown Neighborhood
Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 80-200mm f/4.5-5.6
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

Yes, I know…a gigantic icicle…how appropriate for the day, right? I’m sure you’re wondering just how I got so good at posting photos that are totally related to a given day’s theme…well. I’m just that good!

Okay, so I really do suck at this sort of thing. Sue me. I don’t pay much attention to most holidays apart from those that are related to my religious upbringing, [2][3] or ones that are also national holidays – meaning that I got to take off from work. [4] I suppose this shouldn’t be surprising, given that this is coming from the same person who doesn’t consider his own birthday to be any more significant than any of the other 364.25 days of the year. [5]

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: …or so my friends on Facebook seem to be indicating with their posts.

[2]: That would be Roman Catholic, in case you’re wondering. Even at that, I don’t really remember all of the various feast days, though I remember the major ones (Christmas and Easter).

[3]: This is, of course, somewhat ironic, considering that I am definitely not a practicing Catholic. To make matters even more ironic, I stopped being a practicing Catholic about a year after I completed the sacrament of Confirmation (which is supposed to confirm one’s devotion to the teachings of the Church – hence, the name). Don’t get me wrong…much of my sense of morality is still based on Roman Catholic values, and among other things, I do also own a Catechism and occasionally read parts of it; I just don’t go to services anymore. Well, apart from those on Christmas and Easter…which, if you believe the jokes, makes me the same as pretty much every other American Catholic!

[4]: Well, when I used to have a regular job, that is.

[5]: Yeah, I know…technically, a standard solar (Gregorian) year is 365.2425 days long. Close enough, though.

Leave a Reply

