Twisted, 21 February 2011

2011/02/21

Okay, okay…I swear this is the last post for today! Like I said, though…I’ve got a huge backlog of photos to sort and process! Maybe I need an assistant…

D80-CHI_Twisted01-2011_02-18B

Photo Information:

Location: Chicago, Illinois; Uptown Neighborhood (Lincoln Park)
Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 DX
ISO Equivalency: 100
Color Setting: Vivid

The branches to which the title of this post refers are part of one of my favorite trees…ever. Hmm…apparently, I haven’t posted any photos of it lately…I’ll have to remedy that. Tomorrow, though. Enough for today.

One thing I’ll note about this photo is the color of the sky: one of my buddies, who’s a painter in his spare time, once told me that he had learned in color theory that the best way to imply a cold scene was to use a deep blue tone for the sky…given how blue the sky is in winter (when we can see it, that is), I’m inclined to agree. Of course, I had to adjust that (a little) in post-processing…Nikon’s “vivid” setting never does get the colors as vivid as I’d like them to be. But then again, as I’ve mentioned many times before, I’ve been spoiled by using Fuji’s excellent transparency films – once you do that, it’s hard not to want to emulate that look in your subsequent color photos.

Enjoy.

One Response to “Twisted, 21 February 2011”


  1. […] I mentioned it yesterday, here is the tree that lent its twisted branches to the photo posted […]


Leave a Reply

