Kodak Duaflex IV, 24 February 2011

2011/02/24

These will be the last two images I post from this camera…for now. I have another roll of film that I just finished shooting, but I need a couple days to process and scan that one.

KodakDuaflexIV CHI Acros100 StMaryOfTheLake01B

KodakDuaflexIV CHI Acros100 WaterTower01B

Photo Information:

Location (Upper Photo): Chicago, Illinois; Uptown Neighborhood
Location (Lower Photo): Chicago, Illinois; Streetervillee Neighborhood
Camera: Kodak Duaflex IV
Lens: Integral Kodak Kodar 72mm f/8
Film: Fuji Neopan Acros 100 (120 respooled onto 620)

The lower photo, of course, is the Chicago Water Tower, which I mentioned in Tuesday’s post (one of them, anyways). On the right-hand side is the Park Hyatt Chicago hotel (though most of the upper floors are actually private residences); the building itself was designed by Lucien Lagrange Architects and completed in 2000 (LLA is one of my former employers – though this project was well before my time with them…I was still in school when it was completed).

The subject of the upper photo is St. Mary of the Lake Catholic Church (1917, designed by Henry J. Schlacks), which is at the northwest corner of Sheridan and Buena. Lest you think that bell tower (or in the much more poetical Italian, campanile) is just for show, I can hear the bells from my apartment – the bells chime on the quarter hour (as traditional bell / clock towers once did), and play music during weekend services and on the various (and numerous) Catholic feastdays  throughout the year. On an interesting etymological note, while we often take the naming of churches such as this for granted, I’m not entirely sure if Mary is “officially” a Saint in the Roman Catholic tradition; [1] certainly, she is revered as the Mother of Jesus, and her stature in Church dogma is much higher than that of any one Saint, but I don’t know if the references to her as “Saint Mary” are official, or colloquial. What I do know is that the term “saint” is derived from the Latin root word, sanctus/-a/-um, [2] which means “holy,” and in European examples, churches devoted to Mary were generally named Santa Maria ___. This, of course, makes sense in context, as Santa (and it’s relatives) in most European languages (particularly the Romance languages – i.e. those that were derived from Latin) is directly descended from the original Latin term. This convention is, perhaps, most easily demonstrated in the name of the mother church of the Jesuit Order, the Church of the Most Holy Name of Jesus (or again, more poetically in Italian, Chiesa del Santissimo Nome di Gesù [3] – though the Italians mostly refer to the Church by it’s nickname, Il Gesù [4][5]); Santissimo is the superlative form of Santo, which follows the same pattern as the original Latin (the superlative form of Sanctus/-a/-um would be Sanctissimus/-a/-um). My point is that in all likelihood, the original intention behind such naming conventions would have been for the name of the church to be “Holy Mary,” not necessarily “Saint Mary” – though to be fair, the two terms are technically synonymous. OTOH, I’m just a bit compulsive about semantics, so I suspect this isn’t at all shocking to y’all.

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: Yes, I know that there are quite a number of disagreements regarding the precise status of Mary, depending on which sect of Christianity we’re talking about. That being said, I was raised as a Roman Catholic, so that’s what I know.

[2]: Yes, there is a reason for this odd construction: like most Romance Languages (but not English, as it is technically a Germanic Language with some Romance flair to it), Latin nouns have genders associated with them that are indicated by the suffix attached to the word. As a result, all adjectives have multiple gender forms so that they can match the nouns to which they are paired. In Classical (and Ecclesiastical) Latin, -us is the masculine form, while -a is the feminine, and -um is the neutral form. There are exceptions, but even those have rules associated with them – Classical Latin is a highly structured language; it even has rules for irregular words! [*]

[*]: As for why I know all this? Three years of studying Latin in high school. I’m no expert, and there’s all sorts of stuff I don’t remember anymore, but I many of the basic rules are still floating around in my brain.

[3]: Italian is such a pretty language, ain’t it? I got the chance to appreciate that when I lived in Rome for a few months during a “study” abroad program in which I participated when I was in graduate school. I will freely admit that I spent quite a bit more time wandering around the city, and not quite so much time studying.

[4]: Additional information available here (Wikipedia article); apart from its name and affiliation with the Jesuits, the church is also architecturally significant in its own right.

[5]: This abbreviation is a local colloquialism; the full name of the church is listed on all the travel guides, signs, and maps of the city, but almost nobody ever uses it. Ask someone in Rome where Il Gesù is at, however, and they’ll be able to point you there. Fans of the movie The Big Lebowski might be amused by the translation, as you’re basically asking “Where’s The Jesus at?”

[6]: I should also note that in Italian, the name of this church would probably be something like Santa Maria del Lago. Man, I wish English sounded half as good as Italian…

Leave a Reply

