In the Shadows, 02 March 2011

2011/03/03

Sometimes, the best photos are the simplest ones.

KodakDuaflexIV CHI Acros100 Silhouette01B

Photo Information:

Location: Chicago, Illinois; Uptown Neighborhood
Camera: Kodak Duaflex IV
Lens: Integral Kodak Kodar 72mm f/8
Film: Fuji Neopan Acros 100 (120 respooled onto 620)

I found the worm’s eye view in deep silhouette and the slightly stormy sky quite appealing here. It sorta makes me think of the mood of some old-fashioned horror or suspense movie (not the modern horror movies, though…I’d need a few gallons of blood and a whole mess of severed entrails for that…but I digress).

Anyways, this shot was pretty much at the limit of what I could do with the Duaflex…the whole frame actually turned out quite a bit darker than this, and I had to modify it a bit in post-processing to bring out the backlit quality of the sky. If there were any detail in the various shadowy shapes, all of that would’ve been blown out by the editing process, but since they were already in shadow anyways, I didn’t lose much of anything. I shot this photo at roughly 1730, so by that point, the Sun was already below the horizon, and the ambient light levels were dropping off rapidly. I suspect that the “instant” speed for the Duaflex is either 1/60 sec. or possibly 1/125 sec., but either way, with an f/8 maximum aperture, neither speed is well suited for capturing detail in late evening – hell, I would’ve been had pressed to squeeze out any details from the scene even if I were using the f/1.2 lens I have for my Nikon. I also realize that I could’ve cropped this into a rectangular (rather than square) portrait-format composition, but I kinda like the ominous feel of all the pitch-black shadowy forms here. Overall, I think the scene worked out well, don’t you?

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

