Zeca Bettax, 31 March 2011

2011/04/01

One of the nice things about using my Bettax is that since the camera folds up into a relatively small package is that it’s easy to carry it with me when I’m walking around the city.

ZecaBettax CHI TMax100 StellasDiner01B

Photo Information:

Location: Chicago, Illinois; Lakeview Neighborhood
Camera: Zeca Bettax
Lens: Schneider-Kreuznach 105mm f/4.5 Radionar
Film: Kodak TMax 100 (120)

Of course, one of the downsides of this particular camera (and others like it) is that its frame size is 6cm x 9cm, whereas most of the remaining modern medium format cameras shoot 6cm x 6cm (or smaller) frames. Thus, rather than being able to shoot 12 frames on a single roll (as one can with a 6×6 camera), this camera can only shoot 8 frames on a single roll. OTOH, a 6×9 frame is 50% larger than a 6×6 frame, so in terms of resolution, it does an even better job (though that also leads to my computer threatening to have a stroke every time I scan a frame).

As for the building itself, this is (as you can see from the sign) Stella’s Diner in the Lakeview Neighborhood on Broadway a couple blocks south of Belmont. The building isn’t particularly notable (apart from that giant hand hanging over the main entrance). The main reason I found the building interesting is that a friend recently adopted a puppy and named her Stella. Thus, I thought it was amusing that the diner shares its name with a puppy. Yup, that’s how my brain works.

That, and I do enjoy eating in diners…though I haven’t made it to this one yet. Hey, it’s a ways from my apartment, so it’s not easy to get there for breakfast. And there’s an IHOP about 10 blocks closer. Yup, I’m also incredibly lazy.

Enjoy.

One Response to “Zeca Bettax, 31 March 2011”


  1. Cutest little diner, great shot.


Leave a Reply

