Rebirth, 18 May 2011

2011/05/18

Okay, okay…I realize I’ve been out of circulation for awhile…sorry about that. Had a lot on my mind of late. That said, spring has finally arrived here in Chicago…well, more or less, anyways. It’s warmer than winter, but it is also not as warm as it typically would be for this time of year. Regardless, plants have started emerging from their winter dormancy, so that’s the subject of this post.

D80 CHI FoldedTree01 2011_04-03B

D80 CHI Rebirth01 2011_05-17B

D80 CHI Rebirth02 2011_05-17B

D80 CHI Rebirth03 2011_05-17B

Photo Information:

Location: Chicago, Illinois; Lincoln Park
Camera: Nikon D80
Lens (Upper Photo): Nikon Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 DX
Lens (Lower Photos): Nikon Nikkor 60mm f/2.8 Micro

The upper photo shows what this tree looked like during the winter, when I first noticed it; one could be forgiven in assuming that it is quite dead, as the tree is literally split in half and the two halves have fallen over. Naturally, I assumed the tree was dead, but to my considerable surprise, I found that little shoots and leaves had recently sprouted on the remains. Obviously, the tree isn’t quite as dead as it appears.

On a somewhat related note, I have been noticing that many of my favorite trees here in the city are, in fact, willow trees. I’m not sure about the exact species / variety, mind you, but I can recognize similarities in leaves and buds. This tree, for example, does appear to be a willow, based on the shape of its leaves, and the way the shoots are developing (i.e. long, linear stalks that, given enough time, will tilt over and hang from the larger branches). Granted, I have always been enamored of willow trees, but I found it interesting that I gravitate towards them, even when I don’t immediately recognize them as such – many of the more shapely trees I have recently identified are ones I encountered during late autumn and winter, so whatever leaves they possessed had already died off, and could not be used for comparison.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

