Zeca Bettax, 08 June 2011

2011/06/08

I’ve finally come to the end of my current batch of Bettax photos – I know, I know…took long enough, right? Actually, I do have more, but I have to process the film first, and while I’d love to get on that right away, I have actual paying work to do at the moment, so I’ll have to hold off on the processing, probably until the weekend. In the meantime, though, rest assured that I have other photos to share…just not from this camera.

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 FoldedTree02B

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 Lattice01B

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 Lattice02B

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 Upwards01B

Photo Information:

Location: Chicago, Illinois; Lincoln Park
Camera: Zeca Bettax
Lens: Schneider-Kreuznach 105mm f/4.5 Radionar
Film: Fuji Neopan Acros 100 (120)

Photo 1:
This is a detail from one of my favorite trees in Lincoln Park – hell, it’s one of my favorite trees ever. You know the one I’m talking about. It looks as though the branch here has rotted out from the inside, while leaving the surface layers relatively intact – and gravity pulled down the remaining branch, folding it over into the shape you see here. It seems that this is somewhat common for willow trees, as I’ve seen another example of this sort of decay, and the subject in question was also a willow. Apparently, it also doesn’t stop the tree from growing, even on the parts beyond the rotted sections, as you can see from the new growth that’s sprouting all over the fallen branches.

Photos 2 & 3:
This is a pavilion in Lincoln Park, near the nature boardwalk; it’s named for some company (probably the one that donated it), but I don’t recall which one. As you can see from the variegated appearance of the frame, it’s made of curved, laminated wood sections that are bolted together to form a latticework arch. Rather nifty, if you ask me.

Photo 4:
Another wonderfully shapely tree in Lincoln Park. This one was impressive for how its branches are all curving upwards, as you can see. I do wish I could switch out the lens on the Bettax to get a wider shot, but with the fixed lens, this is not an option. Still, I think you get the general idea.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

