Argus Argoflex, 28 June 2011

2011/06/29

Why, look…I have more Argoflex photos to share!

ArgusAF CHI TMax100 NatlCarWash01B

ArgusAF CHI TMax100 TrumbullPS01B

ArgusAF CHI TMax100 UnionStationInt01B

ArgusAF CHI TMax100 UptownUSPS01B

ArgusAF CHI TMax100 UptownUSPS02B

Photo Information:

Camera: Argus Argoflex TLR
Lens: Argus 75mm f/4.5 Varex
Film: Kodak TMax 100 (120)

Photo 1:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Uptown Neighborhood

Yes, it’s fairly obvious from the signage that this is the National Carwash (and gas station). To be fair, there’s not much artistically to recommend the place, but what can I say? I like signage, especially the older sort, such as this.  This one even lights up at night (I used to pass by it in the evening on my way to yoga classes back when I could afford to go). Those of y’all who’ve read Robert Venturi’s Learning from Las Vegas will also recall that much of Vegas was once covered with signage such as this. And yes, before you ask, I was once the sort of architectural geek who read stuff like Learning from Las Vegas. Now, I just read good SF. And Dostoyevsky. And Dickens. Hmm…I think it might be about time for me to write up another reading list post…but that’s for later.

Photo 2:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Edgewater Neighborhood

This is one end of Lyman Trumball Public School, completed in 1910 and designed by Dwight H. Perkins. There’s something vaguely Egyptian about the massing of the building, while the groupings of the windows and the stonework is influenced by Prairie School designs. Of course, it’s also quite emblematic of Chicago’s size…this is a neighborhood public school, yet it is four stories high and covers most of a city block.

Photo 3:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; West Loop

This is the waiting area inside Union Station, completed in 1925 and designed by Graham, Anderson, Probst, & White. I added the soft focus effect in post-processing; while I don’t generally use the various “artistic” filters, I do occasionally like the blur filter that I used for this shot. As for why I chose to add the effect, it just seemed like it added a little nostalgic feel to the shot; whenever I think of train station waiting areas, I think of them with glowing sunlight filtering in through the windows (or, in this case, the skylights) – I think I’ve seen too many movies that feature such shots. OTOH, I got to literally experience that sort of atmosphere when I was inside Chiesa Nuova in Rome early in the morning – between the soft light of the early morning and the reflective stone and gilt surfaces in the nave, the interior was practically glowing.

Photos 4 & 5:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Uptown Neighborhood

These two photos are of the USPS Uptown Station, which is just north of Broadway & Lawrence; the building was completed in 1939 and designed by Howard L. Cheney. The building is a mix between the Art Deco and Streamline Moderne styles; the colossal granite eagles flanking the entrance are also quite impressive.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

