Kodak Duaflex IV, 05 July 2011

2011/07/05

Guess what? Occasionally, I shoot in color, too! Granted, I don’t do it quite as frequently, since I can’t process color film myself (from what I can tell, both C-41 and E-6 [1] are a bit more complicated than black & white), but I do occasionally like color film. As for why I decided to shoot it in this particular camera, well. I have a bit of dislike for “toy” cameras like the Holga (long-time readers may remember my snarky post on this topic a couple months back), so this was a bit of a “take that” to such cameras and the “culture” that has grown up around them. [2][3]

KodakDuaflexIV CHI Velvia100 AquaBldg01B

KodakDuaflexIV CHI Velvia100 BlueOnBlue01B

KodakDuaflexIV CHI Velvia100 CityByTheLake02B

KodakDuaflexIV CHI Velvia100 CongressPkwyPylon01B

KodakDuaflexIV CHI Velvia100 CrazyTree03B

Photo Information:

Camera: Kodak Duaflex IV
Lens: Kodak 72mm f/8 Kodar
Film: Fuji Velvia 100 (620)

Photo 1:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; North Loop

Yup, you’ve seen this one before in one of my other posts; this is the Aqua Building, completed in 2009 and designed by Jeanne Gang.

Photo 2:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Lincoln Park

Hey look! A blue tree against a blue sky background! No, really…for some reason, the folks at the Parks Department decided to paint these trees a number of different colors; in this particular case, I liked the blue-on-blue combination. And yes, I did photograph this tree before, but that was with my DSLR.

Photo 3:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Museum Campus

Okay, so I was standing at the Museum Campus (just outside the Adler Planetarium, for that matter), but the subject of the photo, of course, is the Chicago skyline. Ain’t it pretty?

Photo 4:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Grant Park

I’m not sure what this pylon is for, but it’s at the intersection of Congress Parkway and Michigan Avenue. It’s obviously neoclassical, and I’m fair sure it (and its twin on the other end of what was once a plaza at the end of Congress Parkway before the latter was extended through the park to Columbus Drive) were built either towards the end of the 19C or early 20C.

Photo 5:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Lincoln Park

Yes, that’s right…my very favorite tree.

Enjoy.

Notes:

[1]: From what I can gather on the internets, it is possible to do these sorts of processing at home, but it’s not easy. Also, the chemicals are not readily available even at dedicated photographic stores, like black & white chemicals are.

[2]: For those of y’all who aren’t familiar with the “culture,” it generally goes by the name Lomography. Rather than try to discuss its “merits,” you can go look it up for yourself.

[3]: There are also certain similarities between this camera and the Holga: both cameras have a single “instant” shutter speed; both have a rudimentary lens focusing mechanism that is generally unsuitable for fine focusing; both cameras use 120 film (okay, the Duaflex uses 620, but if you know how to transfer 120 to 620 spools, this isn’t a problem). Similarities aside, I find the Duaflex to be a superior photographic tool: it has a fairly robust body made of metal and rugged plastic (the Holga’s body is made of relatively thin plastic); it uses a glass lens (the Holga has a plastic lens); the Duaflex is also a bit more compact than the Holga – oh, and unlike the Holga, the Duaflex isn’t subject to the same problems of the former (difficulty keeping the camera light-tight, for example). I should also point out that a new 120 Holga costs 30 USD (and other Lomo-brand cameras can cost even more), I acquired my Duaflex for roughly half that price on Ebay; sure, it was used, but it still works, even after 40 years!

One Response to “Kodak Duaflex IV, 05 July 2011”


  1. […] 5: Remember that blue tree in the post I published yesterday? Well, here are some of its siblings! Somebody had fun with the […]


Leave a Reply

