Industrial Chicago, 24 October 2011

2011/10/24

Yes, I know…I’m posting actual digital photos…shocking!

D80 CHI A-Finkl&Sons Interior01 2011_10-24B

D80 CHI A-Finkl&Sons Interior02 2011_10-24B

D80 CHI A-Finkl&Sons Interior03 2011_10-24B

D80 CHI A-Finkl&Sons Interior04 2011_10-24B

D80 CHI A-Finkl&Sons Interior05 2011_10-24B

D80 CHI A-Finkl&Sons Interior06 2011_10-24B

D80 CHI A-Finkl&Sons Interior07 2011_10-24B

D80 CHI A-Finkl&Sons Interior08 2011_10-24B

Photo Information:

Location: Chicago, Illinois; Bucktown Neighborhood
Camera: Nikon D80
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 DX

The subject of these various photos is the A. Finkl & Sons, Co. metalworks, located near the North Branch of the Chicago River on Cortland (mostly). Now, I know what you’re thinking…”That’s not what I think of when I think of Chicago!” Well…that’s your business, not mine; I happen to like industrial settings. I think it also fits well with Chicago’s historical roots, being a working-class city, and all that. That, and y’know…it’s nice to see actual manufacturing taking place here in America, as opposed to having been shipped off to China.

As for the photos themselves, I shot them at EI 800 to 1000, since the interiors were very dark. I didn’t venture into the factory complex, either…the various buildings have doors that face out onto public streets, and these are often open (mostly for ventilation, I think) – it gets to be a bit of a public spectacle when they’re actually pouring molten steel, though they weren’t doing that today. Anyways, I shot these photos from the public streets around the complex, while peering into the doors. I converted the photos to black and white because, well. Really, don’t these sorts of settings just scream for black and white presentation? I don’t even mind the digital noise so much here…I think it adds to the gritty feel of the settings.

Enjoy.

One Response to “Industrial Chicago, 24 October 2011”


  1. […] looking into the interiors. These are, of course, quite similar to shots I took with my D80 a few weeks prior, and due to the success of that shoot, I decided to come back and shoot again with my Hasselblad. […]


Leave a Reply

