Zeca Bettax, 08 November 2011

2011/11/08

Yup…more photos. Hey, I don’t have much else going on in my life, so I have to keep myself amused somehow, right?

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 CapitalGarage01B

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 CentralCamera01B

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 ColesAppliances01B

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 CTA-RedLine Uptown01B

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 CulturalCenter01B

Photo Information:

Camera: Zeca Bettax
Lens: Schneider-Kreuznach 105mm f/4.5 Radionar
Film: Fuji Neopan Acros 100 (120)

Photo 1:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Andersonville Neighborhood

This is the (former) Capital Garage on Clark Street in the Andersonville Neighborhood on Chicago’s north side. As you can see from the storefronts on the first floor, it isn’t being used as a garage anymore. Check out the giant terra cotta eagle above the second floor windows…impressive, ain’t it?

Photo 2:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Chicago Loop

One of my favorite stores in the city, Central Camera in the south Loop. As you can see by the sign, they’ve been in business since 1899 – likely in the same building, too. Apart from the location, I also appreciate the fact that they still sell all sorts of film (and film cameras!) and the chemicals I need to process said film, so I’m pretty much like a kid in a candy store when I walk into the shop.

Photo 3:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Ravenswood Neighborhood

I encountered this shop while walking from Lincoln & Irving Park north to Lincoln Square (I was on my way to photograph the Krause Music Store, which is just north of Lincoln & Wilson). I don’t know about the quality of the service provided by the store, but I do like the old-fashioned sign hanging over the entrance…

Photo 4:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Uptown Neighborhood

I’m sure I’ve photographed this view before, but not with this camera; in case you didn’t notice it the last few times I’ve posted the image, this is a view under the CTA Red / Purple Line elevated tracks between Irving Park and Montrose. This view is facing south from Buena (or thereabouts); on the right-hand (west) side is a parking lot and beyond that, Graceland Cemetery; on the left-hand (east) side are residences along Kenmore Avenue.

Photo 5:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Chicago Loop

This is the north end of the Chicago Cultural Center (completed in 1897 and designed by Shepley, Rutan, & Coolidge; formerly the Chicago Public Library) on the southwest corner of Michigan and Randolph. The library was founded after the Great Fire in 1871, and was created to house, among other things, a dontation of some 8,000 books from English donors following the fire. In keeping with the American preference for Classical design in large public buildings, the Library has a decidedly Greco-Roman appearance.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

