Chicago Blizzard 2011, 09 November 2011

2011/11/09

Now that winter has started to roll into the city again, I finally got around to editing the shots I took during the blizzard that hit Chicago back in February (yeah, I know…I’m horrible about procrastination).

FM2 CHI TMax100 2011Blizzard01B

FM2 CHI TMax100 2011Blizzard02B

FM2 CHI TMax100 2011Blizzard03B

FM2 CHI TMax100 2011Blizzard04B

FM2 CHI TMax100 2011Blizzard05B

FM2 CHI TMax100 2011Blizzard06B

FM2 CHI TMax100 2011Blizzard07B

FM2 CHI TMax100 2011Blizzard08B

FM2 CHI TMax100 2011Blizzard09B

FM2 CHI TMax100 2011Blizzard10B

Photo Information:

Location: Chicago, Illinois; Uptown Neighborhood
Camera: Nikon FM-2
Lens: Nikon Nikkor 50mm f/1.2
Film: Kodak TMax 100 (135)

As with the digital photos I posted earlier this year for the blizzard, I shot these photos in the Uptown Neighborhood on Chicago’s north side – yup, my home neighborhood. Hey, I shot these during the blizzard…it was hard enough slogging around the few blocks that I covered; there was no way in hell I was going to be able to get to any others while the snow was still falling. BTW, you can see just how heavy the snowfall was that day by how well it obscures buildings in the background; for example, the skyscraper in the background of the last photo is only about two blocks away from where I shot the photo…and you can barely see it. After about an hour, I also noticed folks were mostly walking in the streets rather than the sidewalks – makes sense, as the streets were being actively plowed even as the snow kept piling up, but the sidewalks couldn’t be shoveled fast enough. There were (naturally) very few cars driving in the streets, so it was both easier and not that unsafe to walk in the streets. Fun stuff, that.

Enjoy.

2 Responses to “Chicago Blizzard 2011, 09 November 2011”

  1. dustansept Says:

    I love seeing the FM-2 in action. Great camera!

    • seeker312 Says:

      It sure is a great camera…I brought it along with me specifically because I knew how well Nikon had designed it to stand up to extreme weather.


Leave a Reply

