Zeca Bettax, 12 November 2011

2011/11/12

The more I use my Bettax, the more I enjoy it…and the less I want to use other cameras – which is kinda sad, actually, since I do have a number of fun (and old) cameras I really should devote some time to using. Well, maybe later…right now, here are some more Bettax photos!

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 SkylineSunset01C

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 Sunbeams01B

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 TDM_B

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 TribuneTower03B

ZecaBettax CHI Acros100 WrigleyBldg02B

Photo Information:

Camera: Zeca Bettax
Lens: Schneider-Kreuznach 105mm f/4.5 Radionar
Film: Fuji Neopan Acros 100 (120)

Photo 1:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Lake Michigan

When I say “Lake Michigan,” I mean on the Lake itself – I was with some friends on a boat out on the Lake. Sadly, for most of the trip, I was laid out (literally) with seasickness – I don’t get any other form of motion sickness, but put me on a boat, and I develop nausea inside of a few minutes. It had been a while since I had been on a boat, so I wondered if I would still be badly affected…now, I know. Next time, I should try taking some medication, but in the past, it hasn’t helped much. OTOH, being on the boat did afford me the opportunity to get some unique views of the city – you can see all of the Loop and Streeterville in this view, from the Sears Tower on the south (left) side of the photo to the Hancock Building on the north (right) side of the photo. I shot the photo later in the day, so you can see sunlight streaming through the clouds that were over the city (for those of y’all who don’t own a map or a globe, Lake Michigan is east of Chicago, so the sun sets on the opposite side of the city). I also had three other cameras with me at the time, so you may see similar photos to this one in the near future as I process those.

Photo 2:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Lincoln Park

Those of y’all who have been paying attention to some of my recent posts will probably recognize this photo. I always carry my DSLR with me when I’m using a film camera, mostly to check exposure (the built-in LCD screen helps immensely in this regard), so that let me shoot a number of photos of the foggy afternoon while I was out. I liked this view quite a bit, so I shot it both with the DSLR and with my Bettax. I do want to get a smaller digital camera that would allow me to carry much less weight than I carry with my DSLR and its assorted lenses, but for now…yeah. Can’t afford it. Shucks and other comments.

Photo 3:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Chicago Loop

One of the early reasons I bought a digital camera was to document graffiti that I found in the various cities I’ve visited / lived in. While I don’t actively search for graffiti as much these days, I do enjoy photographing it when I find it. This one was mostly white with a few color highlights, so I thought that the combination of the piece and the alley made for an interesting view that wouldn’t suffer from the lack of color. I’m fair sure the piece illustrates the letters, TDM – though as those of y’all who are familiar with graffiti can attest, reading the pieces can get problematic due to the artistic elements of the composition. One other matter of interest to me is that I found this piece in the midst of the Loop – somewhat uncommon, for obvious reasons.

Photos 4 & 5:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Streeterville Neighborhood

If y’all don’t recognize these buildings by now, you haven’t been reading enough of my posts! I shot both of these photos just before that dramatic sky in the background decided to unload on the city. Fun stuff, that.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

