Canon AE-1P, 26 November 2011

2011/11/26

Here are some more photos of the Kinzie Street Railroad Bridge…because I was just infatuated with this amazing mass of steel, wood, and concrete.

AE1P CHI TMax100 KinzieStreetBridge06B

AE1P CHI TMax100 KinzieStreetBridge07B

AE1P CHI TMax100 KinzieStreetBridge08B

AE1P CHI TMax100 KinzieStreetBridge09B

AE1P CHI TMax100 KinzieStreetBridge10B

Photo Information:

Location: Chicago, Illinois; River North
Camera: Canon AE-1 Program
Lens: Canon 70-210mm f/4 FD (Photo 1); 50mm f/1.4 FD (Photos 2, 4, & 5); 135mm f/3.5 FD (Photo 3)
Film: Kodak TMax 100 (135)

While some of these shots may appear to be macro shots, they aren’t…I don’t own a macro lens for my AE-1 (though I do have one for my Nikon…but that’s neither here nor there, since Canon and Nikon don’t have compatible lens mounts). In these cases, I simply moved an appropriate distance away from the subject of the shot – the minimum focusing distance for the lens I was using. This is, of course, made easier by the fact that I can see the focusing limit of the lens in real-time through the viewfinder, as opposed to the scale focusing I use with some of my older cameras. Obviously, there are some limits to what can be accomplished in this manner, but hey…gotta work with what you’ve got, right?

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

