Hasselblad 500CM, 30 April 2012

2012/04/30

Hey folks…yeah, I know. It’s been a while, hasn’t it? Well…I got a new job, and I’ve been dragging my feet at adopting anything resembling a schedule, using the excuse that since I work evenings, it’s just gonna be weird. Anyways, that’s really BS, ain’t it? Ultimately, I’ve just been lazy, so I intend to address that. To start with, here’s a selection of shots I took last October! Yeah, I know…I’ve got a massive backlog of film I’ve gotta scan (and even more that I need to process), so you’ll be seeing some old shots for a little while. OTOH, you wouldn’t know that they were old unless I told you…

Hass500CM CHI HP5+ 1600 A-Finkl&SonsInt01B

Hass500CM CHI HP5+ 1600 A-Finkl&SonsInt02B

Hass500CM CHI HP5+ 1600 CTA-Subway01B

Photo Information:
Camera: Hasselblad 500CM
Lens: Carl Zeiss 80mm f/2.8 Planar
Film: Ilford HP5+ EI1600 (120)

Photos 1 & 2:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Bucktown Neighborhood

These two shots are of the interior of the A. Finkl & Sons factory located on the Chicago River on the eastern edge of the Bucktown Neighborhood. The interior, as you can imagine, is rather dark compared to the outside, which is why I chose to shoot these at EI1600, even though I was standing in doorways looking into the interiors. These are, of course, quite similar to shots I took with my D80 a few weeks prior, and due to the success of that shoot, I decided to come back and shoot again with my Hasselblad. The glare on the left-hand side of the first frame is due to the light outside the door, not a proceesing error.

Photo 3:
Location: Chicago, Illinois; Chicago Loop

This is the interior of the Monroe stop on the CTA Red Line; it’s at night, but that really doesn’t matter so much for the interior, as it’s always this dark. The time of day was, however, a factor in how empty the station was, which was also why I wanted to take this shot.

Anyways, as mentioned previously, I do hope to resume adding more content here in the near future, so stay tuned.

Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Hasselblad 500CM, 30 April 2012”

  1. Mr Mole Says:

    beautiful set of photos.
    Mike

    • seeker312 Says:

      Thanks. I try so very hard. Actually, not really…but I try not to mention that too much, since it sometimes annoys folks when I don’t talk about how much effort and such goes into each shot – really, I just shoot what looks good to me at the time. Sometimes this works out, sometimes not. Practice helps, of course, and I’ve been doing this stuff for about 10 years now, but ultimately, y’all are only seeing the good shots. The bad ones never get scanned / edited.

      • Mike Says:

        I am sure so many digital users either do not know or have forgotten the effort needed to take film and process it.
        Mike


Leave a Reply

